The YVAA is always pleased to have offers from those who would like to join the Committee. We have been pleased to recruit several new members recently:

  • Thomas Sharp as Treasurer;
  • Trevor McDermot as Membership Secretary;
  • Tim Holt as website manager;
  • Chris Ireland and Jed Turner as Cross Country Championship Coordinators (after the 2022 event).

Additionally, Tim and Trevor have offered to help share John Popiolek’s Grand Prix race results role. Thanks again John and Trish for all your hard work across many events!

However, we would still welcome new members! The YVAA does not run itself, it needs your involvement. Please don’t think that somebody else will volunteer. If you enjoy YVAA events, have enthusiasm, and can spare a couple of hours 4 or 5 times a year you could be a Committee Member helping to run the YVAA. Without new ‘blood’ YVAA will eventually perish!

Committee Members meet about 4 times per year, on Zoom at the moment but in each member’s area by turn in normal times. We also help with the results/prize-giving at Grand Prix and Championship events when available, sharing out attendances between us. In the event that you attend as a helper a race that you are not taking part in, a petrol allowance is payable.

We do still need someone to take over as our Road Relays Championship Coordinator. This doesn’t involve actually organising the course, marshals, etc., but liaising with the host club’s organiser to ensure that everything is in place, and dealing with race entries, number allocations, and registration on the day, with assistance from other Committee members.

If anyone would be interested in coming on to the Committee and putting something back into the organisation of the YVAA then please do contact us using our contact form.

Committee Members

Rob Kersey

Holmfirth Harriers

Acting Chair; Secretary; Cross Country Championship Coordinator

Road, Fell and Cross-country Runner, and organizer of many local races.

Vicki Hipkiss

Kirkstall Harriers

Fixtures Secretary

Thomas Sharp

Morley RC


Trevor McDermot


Membership Secretary; Grand Prix Race Results

Brian Hilton

Leeds City AC


Road, Fell, Track and Cross-country runner of 50 years experience.

Peter Covey

Pudsey Pacers RC


Road, Fell and Cross-country runner.

Peter Yates

Rothwell Harriers


Road, Track, Fell and Cross-country runner.

Tim Holt

Steel City Striders

Website; Grand Prix Race Results

Road runner and relay team rounder-upper. Still dreaming of a sub-3 marathon.

Gavin Mulholland

Stainland Lions RR

Grand Prix Prize Co-ordinator

International Road, Fell and Cross-country runner.

Chris Ireland

Sheffield RC

Cross Country Championship Coordinator

Jed Turner

Sheffield RC

Cross Country Championship Coordinator

Retired Members

Will Allan

Tadcaster Harriers

Former Chairman and Membership Secretary

Road, Track and Cross-Country runner of 50 years experience. Proudly, Scottish Schools U17 Triple Jump Champion of 1963.

Tim Cock

Holmfirth Harriers

Formerly Medals, trophies and race numbers admin

40+ years a Road, Cross-country, Track and Fell runner, and expert announcer – Tannoy Tim, the loudest and clearest voice in British athletics.