Fell Championship 2021

The YVAA Fell Championship 2021 took place on Sunday, November 7th at Cop Hill Fell Race. Many thanks to Meltham AC for hosting. Please see their club website and Facebook event page for further details.

We had a good turn out in windy but dry conditions. Holmfirth Harriers were out in force, and scooped up first place in no less than six categories.

A special mention for Philip Grimes of Halifax Harriers, who won the M65 trophy but whose time would still have been good enough for a win if he’d been 10 years younger.

Philip Grimes at the Fell Championship 2021. Photo by Steve Frith.

1st M65 Philip Grimes leads a group up the first climb

Also to Fran Whitworth from Holmfirth Harriers who edged a close F50 race, and to Wakefield’s Diane Simmons who was first F60 by just 7 seconds.

Fran Whitworth at the Fell Championship 2021. Photo by Steve Frith.

1st F50 Fran Whitworth approaches the finish

But congratulations to all of our prize-winners. For a full list, please see below. As ever, please get in touch if you spot any errors, and any uncollected trophies will be available to collect at our future events.


Pos Name Club Time
1 Caroline Brock Steel City Striders 0:45:45
2 Myfanwy Cross Penistone Footpath Runners AC 1:13:31


Pos Name Club Time
1 Rebecca Timms Penistone Footpath Runners AC 0:52:59
2 Jude Taylor Penistone Footpath Runners AC 1:03:38


Pos Name Club Time
1 Helen Haigh Holmfirth Harriers 0:47:34
2 Lesley Watson Bingley Harriers 0:50:35
3 Caroline Harding Pudsey & Bramley AC 0:56:59


Pos Name Club Time
1 Fran Whitworth Holmfirth Harriers 0:54:34
2 Judy Howells Wharfedale Harriers 0:54:54
3 Natasha Geere Spenborough & District AC 0:56:35


Pos Name Club Time
1 Jean Shotter Holmfirth Harriers 1:03:51
2 Paula Mills Barnsley Harriers 1:07:52
3 Jackie Carter Spenborough & District AC 1:17:32


Pos Name Club Time
1 Diane Simmons Wakefield District Harriers & AC 1:07:10
2 Elaine Stewart Holmfirth Harriers 1:07:17


Pos Name Club Time
1 Daniel Limb Penistone Footpath Runners AC 0:49:26
2 Alasdair Menmuir Steel City Striders 0:49:45
3 David Howes Barnsley Harriers 1:06:10


Pos Name Club Time
1 Paul Middlemas Steel City Striders 0:42:08
2 Damien Kilpin Penistone Footpath Runners AC 0:44:28
3 Tim Holt Steel City Striders 0:48:16


Pos Name Club Time
1 Colin Walker Bingley Harriers 0:42:13
2 Adam Wakelin Holmfirth Harriers 0:45:53
3 Ryan Barker Halifax Harriers 0:48:17


Pos Name Club Time
1 Ian Martin Vale of York AC 0:47:56
2 James Durrans Holmfirth Harriers 0:52:48


Pos Name Club Time
1 David Milton Holmfirth Harriers 0:54:56
2 Shaun Clarkson Barnsley Harriers 0:55:25
3 Steve Dickinson Penistone Footpath Runners AC 0:56:02


Pos Name Club Time
1 David Williams Holmfirth Harriers 0:50:47
2 Michael Dransfield Spenborough & District AC 1:07:33


Pos Name Club Time
1 Philip Grimes Halifax Harriers 0:50:27
2 Kevin Yewlett Holmfirth Harriers 0:56:45


Pos Name Club Time
1 Neil Midgley Holmfirth Harriers 1:02:43
2 Antonio Cardinale Otley AC 1:48:59

Clubs Table

Club 1st 2nd 3rd
Holmfirth Harriers 6 4 0
Penistone Footpath Runners AC 2 3 1
Steel City Striders 2 1 1
Bingley Harriers 1 1 0
Halifax Harriers 1 0 1
Vale of York AC 1 0 0
Wakefield District Harriers & AC 1 0 0
Barnsley Harriers 0 2 1
Spenborough & District AC 0 1 2
Otley AC 0 1 0
Wharfedale Harriers 0 1 0
Pudsey & Bramley AC 0 0 1

Many thanks to Steve Frith for providing race photos. See his Cop Hill Fell Race 2021 gallery for more.

One comment on “Fell Championship 2021

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *